Calendar

Upcoming Events

Wednesday & Thursday, January 22-23, 2014:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra - Symphony Concerts for Young People 10am and 11:15am
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Saturday, January 25, 2014:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra - POWER, PIANO, PERCUSSION - 8:00pm
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Friday, January 31, 2014:
Faculty Artist Series, Dave Gerhart, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB

Friday, February 7, 2014:
CSULB University Symphony Orchestra, Johannes Müller-Stosch, conductor, 8:00pm
Carpenter Performing Arts Center, CSULB
Performing Concerto for Marimba – Eckhard Kopetzki

 

Continuing Events

Sundays Throughout the Year
Island Hoppin’ Steel Drum Band  - Poolside Entertainment at The Newport Coast Marriott Villas
Sundays, 1pm – 4pm

 

Past Events (2013)

Saturday, January 26, 2013:
Southwest Chamber Music
2013 LA International New Music Festival 
Performing Toru Takemitsu - Bryce and Elliott Carter – Luimen (West Coast Premiere), 8:00pm Zipper Concert Hall at
The Colburn School, Los Angeles

Sunday, January 27, 2013:
California Percussive Arts Society’s Day of Percussion
CSULB 1:00pm – 8:00pm
Dave Gerhart – Host
Featuring: Pius Cheung, Hands On’Semble and Randy Drake

Friday, February 1, 2013:
Faculty Artist Series, Slow Sound: Tibetan Singing Bowls, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Concert Program

February 2, 2013:
Southwest Chamber Music
2013 LA International New Music Festival 
Gabriela Ortiz – Elegía (U.S. Premiere), 8:00pm Zipper Concert Hall at
The Colburn School, Los Angeles

Saturday, February 9, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “Dancing and Romancing” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Monday, February 11, 2013:
Faculty Chamber Music Concert, 8pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Performing the works of Carolyn Bremer, John Luther Adams, and Adriana Verdie
Concert Program

Friday, February 22, 2013:
South Coast Symphony, 7:30pm
CROSSLINE CHURCH, Laguna Hills
Mahler’s 4th Symphony

Friday, March 15, 2013:
CSULB World Percussion Concert, 8:00pm
Featuring the HSU Calypso Band, Eugene Novotney – Director
University Theater, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Saturday, March 16, 2013:
Combined Steel Drum Concert, 4:00pm
Featuring the HSU Calypso Band, Eugene Novotney – Director
University Theater, CSULB $5
Concert Flyer
Concert Program

Tuesday, March 26, 2013:
CSULB University Percussion Group, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Steve Reich’s Drumming
Concert Flyer
Concert Program

Thursday, March 28, 2013:
CSULB Percussion Ensemble, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Featuring Brad Dutz, Chris Wabich and the Mira Costa Percussion Ensemble
Concert Program

Saturday, April 6, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “The Beat Goes On” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Saturday, April 13, 2013:
Faculty Artist Series, Darrin Thaves, Flute, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Performing works by Christien Ledroit and Payton MacDonald
Concert Program

Thursday, April 18, 2013:
CSULB Percussion Chamber Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Concert Program

Friday, April 19 – Sunday, April 21, 2013:
CSULB University Percussion Group Tour
PAS Solo and Ensemble Festival, Fresno, CA

Saturday, April 27, 2013:
CSULB Caribbean Extravaganza, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $15/10(/5)
Featuring the St. Anthony’s Steel Drum Band
Concert Program

Friday, May 3, 2013:
Faculty Composers Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Performing work by Robin Cox
Concert Program

Saturday, May 11, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “A Century of Jazz” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Saturday, May 17, 2013:
Mira Costa High School Spring Percussion Festival
4:30pm: Clinic “Counting, Listening, and Groove Building”
7:00pm: Concert – Performing “Night Watch” – Mark Ford

Friday, May 25, 2013:
Cal Poly Pomona Percussion Master Classes
5:30pm – Room 24 – 105
Clinic: “The 21st Century Percussionist: Today, Tomorrow and the Future”

Sunday, May 26, 2013:
Long Beach Ballet presents Swan Lake (Highlights)
Private Residence – Los Angeles

Saturday, June 2, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra - Gershwin, Sibelius - 7:30pm
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Saturday, June 29, 2013:
Faculty Artist Series, IronWorks Percussion Duo, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB – Free

Friday, September 6 and Saturday, September 7, 2013:
SambaLa Samba School performance with Blue Man Group, 8:00pm
Hollywood Bowl

Sunday, September 22, 2013:
California Percussive Arts Society’s Day of Percussion
CSULB 1:00pm – 6:00pm
Dave Gerhart – Host
Featuring: Brad Dutz, Chad Wackerman, Ian Grom

Saturday, September 28, 2013:
Faculty Artist Series, Darrin Thaves, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Performance of Kembang Suling – Gareth Farr

Friday, October 4, 2013:
Society for Minimalist Music: 4th International Conference
CSULB New Music Ensemble Performance
Performance of Red Arc / Blue Veil – John Luther Adams
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB

Saturday, October 19, 2013:
CSULB University Choir Performance, 8:00pm
Performance of Kyrie by Glenn McClure
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB

Friday, October 25, 2013:
CSULB World Percussion Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Concert Program

Saturday, October 26, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “Classical Mystery Tour – The Music of the Beatles” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Thursday, November 7, 2013:
CSULB Percussion Ensemble, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Thursday, November 19, 2013:
CSULB Percussion Chamber Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB
Concert Program

Saturday, November 23, 2013:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “Kicking Brass – The Music of Chicago, Steely Dan and Blood, Sweat and Tears” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Friday, December 6, 2013:
CSULB Caribbean Holiday Celebration, 8:00pm
Featuring Liam Teague, steel pan
Carpenter Performing Arts Center, CSULB $15/10(/5)
Concert Program

December 14-15 & 21-22, 2013:
Long Beach Ballet presents The Nutcracker
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Past Events (2012)

Friday, February 3, 2012:
Faculty Artist Series, Slow Sound: Tibetan Singing Bowls, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB

February 19-22, 2012:
University of Texas, Austin Residency
Percussion Ensemble/Steel Drum Concert, Tuesday, February 21, 7:30pm
Premiering Bossa de los Changitos with the UT Steel Drum Ensemble and performing Open Windows – Robert Chappell with Dr. Thomas Burritt
Concert Program

Thursday, March 1, 2012:
Faculty Artist Series, IronWorks Duo, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Friday, March 16, 2012:
CSULB World Percussion Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Thursday, April 12, 2012:
CSULB Percussion Ensemble, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

April 13-14, 2012:
Southern Utah University Day of Percussion
IronWorks Duo

Saturday, April 28, 2012:
CSULB Caribbean Extravaganza, 4:00pm/8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $15/10(/5)
Concert Program

Saturday, May 19, 2012:
Mira Costa High School Spring Percussion Festival
5:30pm: Clinic “The 21st Century Percussionist”
7:00pm: Concert – Performing “A Minute of News” – Eugene Novotney

Saturday, June 2, 2012:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra - “Romance and Rhythm” - 8:00pm
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Thursday, June 7, 2012:
2012 Ojai Music Festival
The West Coast Premiere of John Luther Adams’ Inuksuit - 5:00pm

Friday, July 20, 2012:
“Summer Nights Under the Stars”
Island Hoppin’ Steel Drum Band
Pearson Park – Anaheim 6:30pm – 8:30pm

Friday, September 7 – 9, 2012:
Long Beach Opera
The United States Premiere of The Paper Nautilus by Gavin Bryars
Aquarium of the Pacific – 8:00pm

Saturday, October 6, 2012:
Bob Cole Conservatory Opening Ceremony and Dedication Concert, 4:00pm
Carmina Burana – Mvts. 1, 2, 5
Bob Cole Conservatory Chamber Choir, CSULB University Choir, University Percussion Group (Version for Choir, 2 Pianos and Percussion)
Dave Gerhart, Conductor
Carpenter Performing Arts Center, CSULB
Concert Program

Friday, October 26, 2012:
CSULB World Percussion Concert, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Saturday, October 27 and Sunday, October 28, 2012:
Music for Choir and Percussion, 8:00pm & 4:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Saturday, November 3, 2012:
Percussive Arts Society International Convention Concert
Session Title “Steel Band Literature: New Directions, Styles and Sources”
PASIC All-Star Steel Drum Band – Directed by Dave Gerhart, Tony McCutchen and CJ Menge
Austin, TX. Level 1, Exhibit Hall 5 – World Clinic/Performance

Thursday, November 15, 2012:
CSULB Percussion Ensemble, 8:00pm
Daniel Recital Hall, CSULB $10/7
Concert Program

Saturday, November 17, 2012:
Long Beach Symphony Orchestra Pops - “A Night in Brazil” - 8:00pm
Long Beach Arena – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment

Friday, November 30, 2012:
CSULB Caribbean Holiday Celebration, 8:00pm
Carpenter Performing Arts Center, CSULB $15/10(/5)
Concert Program

December 15-16 & 22-23, 2012:
Long Beach Ballet presents The Nutcracker
Terrace Theater – Long Beach Convention Center and Entertainment